Antonio A. Hidalgo, president and CEO of Milflores Publishing, was recently inducted into the Board of Trustees of the Book Development Association of the Philippines (BDAP). Tony was re-elected for a second 2-year term as chair of the ways and means committee.

The new board, led by its president Lirio P. Sandoval, took their oath of office before Dr. Dennis T. Gonzalez, chairman of the National Book Development Board (NBDB), at Albergus in Quezon City.

Aside from Tony, the newly inducted officers are: Mylene A. Sazon, vice president, internal; Karina A. Bolasco, vice president external; Atty. Manuel D. Yngson Jr., corporate secretary; Rolando R. De Vera, treasurer; Ramon A. Rocha III, auditor; Jose Maria T. Policarpio, committee chair for advocacy textbooks; Dr. Ma. Luisa T. Camagay, committee chair for advocacy trade books; Ani Rosa S. Almario, committee chair for public relations; Gwenn B. Galvez, committee chair for events and conferences; and Bezalie Uc-Kung, committee chair for programs.

During his speech before BDAP’s officers and members, Dr. Gonzalez said that like BDAP, the NBDB wants to develop and professionalize the book publishing industry so that it becomes a world-class and globally competitive industry, contributing something of value to Philippine society.

The organization’s new members were presented to the group later in the evening. The event was also a general membership meeting,

BDAP was incorporated in 1979, and is the moving force behind the country’s celebrated Manila International Book Fair and the prestigious Gintong Aklat Awards. NBDB, for its part, is the lead government agency mandated to support the Philippine book publishing industry.

In the photo above, Tony is at far right. NBDB's chair, Dr. Dennis Gonzalez is at far left.

Posted on May 17, 2008